Prince Henry Hospital - an historical timeline 1881-2003
Little Bay was chosen for its isolation and wonderful coastal location for the NSW government’s first public hospital. It was known as ‘the Coast Hospital’ for more than 50 years.
The heritage Flowers Wards were commissioned by the NSW government. They were named after Fred Flowers, the first NSW minister for public health. Flowers Ward one is now a Nursing and Medical museum.
The first steam tram travelled from Bridge Street, in Sydney city, to Little Bay. Before the steam tram, horse and cart was the only mode of transport to deliver patients to the hospital.
Prince Henry became the largest hospital in NSW.
The Coast Hospital was renamed Prince Henry Hospital to mark the visit of Prince Henry, Duke of Gloucester. A year later, the hospital’s capacity reached 1,000 beds.
Prince Henry became a teaching hospital and training facility for doctors and nurses. Many of today’s health care professionals saw their first practical experience at Prince Henry Hospital.
Prince Henry surgeons performed the world’s first kidney transplant.
Artists Christo and Jeanne-Claude wrapped Little Bay’s cliffs in huge quantities of white plastic, with many kilometres of rope used to secure the plastic.
A decision was made to consolidate Prince Henry and Prince of Wales Hospitals.
The NSW government appointed Landcom to create a master plan and redevelop the Prince Henry Hospital site. As part of that process, it drew up design guidelines and administered a design review panel to ensure the protection of each individual property, and to take care of the on-going beautification and maintenance of the open spaces.
The last remaining wards closed following the decision in 1988 to consolidate Prince Henry and Prince of Wales Hospitals.